Yamas & Niyamas

Yoga means "union" and is the connections between the body, mind and spirit.

Yoga is a lot more than just asana (yoga poses)

To me, it is a lifestyle and a way of life.

This is my interpretation of the first two limbs of the Yoga three.


Yamas are ethical standards and sense of integrity. They are guidelines for how to behave towards others and yourself. There are five different Yamas

Ahimsa – Nonviolence

To refrain from violence towards others and yourself, both physically and mentally.

Satya - Truthfulness

To be honest with yourself and others

Asteya - Non-stealing

To refrain from both stealing physical objects, but also intangible entities, such as ideas or personalities

Brahmacharya - Moderation

To unite with the energy surrounding you but also be self-moderating with said energy, for example avoiding eating more than you need, and to listen to what your mind tells you within similar aspects.

Aparigraha Non possessiveness

To neither posses nor desire more than necessary, to avoid material attachment, but instead be grateful for what you already have.


Niyamas are positive chores and habits that help you to maintain a healthy environment and spiritual existence.

Sauca – Purity

To both physically and mentally, maintain a clean environment, and keep your mind uncluttered to improve your attitude towards yourself and others.

Santosa – satisfaction

To be satisfied with what you have in life, and to appreciate who you are.

Tapas – Self discipline

To be self-disciplinary with your work as well as with your hobbies, and to restrain excessive impulses

Svadyaya - Study of self

To be self-reflective of both your mind and actions, and have a deep fundamental awareness of your self.

Ishvara Pranidhana - Spirituality

To feel the connection between your mind, body, and the inner spirituality, connected with everyone and everything around you, and to be balanced mentally and bodily.